Spain wins the 2010 Grand Prix in a Thriller!


Spain has finally stopped the juggernaut that is the Brazilian nationalf utsal team via a thrilling back and forth match which saw the Iberians come out with a 2-1 victory in Anapolis, Brazil earlier today.

The win snaps Brazils incredible 163 game win streak and also ends their 5 year Grand Prix championship monopoly, having won every edition of the tournament since its inception back in 2005.

Rafa Usin opened the scoring in the 6th with a blazing shot that was too much for outstretched Brazilian goalkeeper Tiago to handle. Ortiz doubled up the lead when he chipped the Brazilian defense in the 16th.

Fernandinho breathed some life back into Brazil in the 27th after making a dazzling run to the net that was clinically finished off.

The win is also a bit of retribution for Spain who lost to their longtime rivals at the 2008 FIFA Futsal World Cup which was also hosted by Brazil. Paraguay clinched 3rd place by beating out a very tough Iranian team on Saturday.    

Grand Prix 2010 – Final Standing
1° Spain
2° Brazil
3° Paraguay
4° Iran
5° Italy
6° Portugal
7° Argentina
8° Czech Republic
9° Russia
10° Libya
11° Guatemala
12° Costa Rica
13° Netherlands
14° Romania
15° Zambia
16° Qatar

Leave a reply