Futsal Goal Cup 2003


Futsal Goal Cup 2003 – Day 3
Courtesy: www.concacaf.com

USA wins Futsal quadrangular with victory over Mexico; Guatemala claims second, while Canada finishes third

8.12.03 – The USA won the Futsal quadrangular in Anaheim, California on Sunday, after defeating Mexico 7:0 in the final match of the event at the Anaheim Convention Center, while Canada topped Guatemala 5:3.

The event hosted by the US Futsal Federation (USFF), which is an affiliate body of the US Soccer Federation (editor’s note: The USFF is no longer sanctioned by US Soccer), saw the USA (2-1-0, 6 Points) capture the first-place title after finishing ahead of Guatemala (2-1-0, 6 Points) on the goal differential tiebreaker, +8 to +5 in the round-robin standings.

Forward Don D’Ambra paced the stars & stripes’ offense with three (of his tournament leading four) goals, while midfielders Steve Butcher, Kevin Sloan, forward Bernie Lilavois and defender Pat Morris all added a tally in the 7:0 victory.

In an earlier encounter, Canada (1-1-1, 4 Points) used two goals by midfielder Chris Sarantopoulos and one each from defenders Geordie Lyall, Alfredo Valente and midfielder Kyriakos Selaidopoulos to claim the third-place honor after defeating Guatemala 5:3.

The chapines, who finished second at the quadrangular, had two goals by midfielder and the tournament’s most valuable player, Erick Acevedo in the loss to the maple leafs.

“I am very proud that we had four CONCACAF teams competing in this Futsal event in Anaheim this weekend,” said USFF President Alex Para, who is also a member of the CONCACAF Futsal Committee. “I would like to offer my congratulations to all the teams at the event and I look forward to even more Futsal competitions around the region.”

07.12.2003: Anaheim, California USA; Anaheim Convention Center (A: 325)

Canada – Guatemala 5-3 (1-0)

CANADA: Starting five – Bradley Daviss – Geordie Lyall, Patrick Leduc, Kyriakos Selaidopoulos, Chris Sarantopoulos.
Substitutions – Glen Gehlert-GK – William DeSilva, Alfredo Valente, Kurt Bosch, Steffan Holdt, Tiarnan King, Sean Fraser, Jason Jordan, Nico Craveiro.
Coach: Ross ONGARO.

GUATEMALA: Starting five – Carlos Merida – Jaime Estuardo De León, Reinaldo Rosales Acevedo, Marlon Noj, Erick Acevedo.
Substitutions – Omar Castillo, Carlos Eduardo Estrada Ramírez.
Coach: Carlos Eduardo ESTRADA.

1’ Kyriakos SELAIDOPOULOS (1-0)
21’ Chris SARANTOPOULOS (2-0)
33’ Chris SARANTOPOULOS (3-0)
25’ Erick ACEVEDO (3-1)
28’ Alfredo VALENTE (4-1)
37’ Geordie LYALL (5-1)
40’ Erick ACEVEDO (5-2)
40′ Marlon NOJ (5-3)

Referee 1: Emilio DONGU (MEX)
Referee 2: Carlos PALOMINO (USA)

Yellow card: Castillo 13’, Valente 26’, King 32’, Noj 32’,
Red card: Jordan 32’, Estrada Ramírez 32’

Final Standings
1. USA ————————-3-2-0-1-12–4-6
2. Guatemala ——————-3-2-0-1-13–8-6
3. Canada ———————-3-1-1-1-10-10-4
4. Mexico ———————-3-0-1-2–5-18-1

Leave a reply