CONCACAF Releases Group Stage Matches for 2012 Championships


If Canada defeats El Salvador in their two-leg contest they will face the following 3 teams in the group stage at the upcoming 2012 CONCACAF Futsal Championships in Guatemala from July 2-9th.


CONCACAF Press Release:

NEW YORK — The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced that host and defending champion Guatemala will face the United States, Panama and the winner of a playoff between Canada and El Salvador in Group A at the 2012 CONCACAF Futsal Championship, following a draw held today at the Intercontinental Hotel in Guatemala City.

Group B will consist of Cuba, Mexico, Costa Rica and St. Kitts and Nevis.

The tournament will be played July 2-8 at the Domo Polideportivo in Guatemala City, Guatemala, marking the third time that the Central American nation has hosted the event.

To determine the last qualifier, Canada and El Salvador will face off in a two-leg playoff on June 28 and 29, also at the Domo Polideportivo in Guatemala City.

For the first time, CONCACAF will send four teams to a FIFA Futsal World Cup. The next edition will be held Nov. 1-18, 2012, in Thailand.

CONCACAF has staged four previous futsal qualifying events for FIFA tournaments, with the United States taking first place on two occasions (1996, 2004). Costa Rica (2000) and Guatemala (2008) have captured one title each.

A complete schedule will be announced in the coming days.

Leave a reply

More News