Canada’s Roster for the CONCACAF Championships


Canadian National Head Coach Kyt Selaidopoulos has named his 14 man roster for the CONCACAF Qualifiers that kicks off next week.


After winning the Canadian club treble this year goalkeeper Joshua Lemos returns to the national team.

After a series of ID camps in the Greater Toronto Area, Selaidopoulos was able to whittle down the roster to 11 players and 3 goalkeepers. Four players return from the 2012 CONCACAF Championships, including goalkeeper Joshua Lemos who scored the biggest goal in Canadian futsal history against El Salvador.

Other returning players include Hamilton native, Ian Bennett, 23 year-old defender Danial Chamale, and backup goalkeeper Vincent Cournoyer of Saint-Hyacinthe, QUE. Toronto United Futsal Club Coach Lorenzo Redwood also returns as one of two assistant coaches along with Montreal’s Mike Vitulano.

Also making a return to the national program for the first time since 2008 is veteran defender Desmond Humphrey who is coming off superb performances in both the OSA Futsal Cup and the CSA Futsal Championships.

The team fly out to San Jose, Costa Rica on Thursday April 28th and will have a training camp along with an exhibition game against Honduras on May 1st. The two game series against the U.S. goes down on May 4-5th with the aggregate winner advancing to Group B of the CONCACAF Championships. The four teams advancing to the semi-final stage will earn a ticket to the FIFA Futsal World Cup in Colombia from September 10th to October 1st.

A full preview of the Canada/United States series will be here on Monday. Futsal Canada will be live on site in Costa Rica throughout the tournament. For a comprehensive preview of Canada’s Road to Colombia click here


1- GK- Joshua Lemos | CAN / Toronto United Futsal

2- GK- David Campusano | CAN / Futsal Club Toronto

3- M- Desmond Humphrey | CAN / Toronto United Futsal

4- D- Eduardo Jauregui | CAN / Futsal Club Toronto

5- M- Matias Dimarco | CAN / Toronto Idolo Futsal

6- M- Ian Bennett | USA / Milwaukee Wave

7- D- Vahid Assadpour | USA / Missouri Comets

8- M- Nazim Belguendouz | CAN / FC Grenadiers

9- T- Frederico Moojen | USA / St. Louis Ambush

10- M- Marco Rodriguez | CAN / Toronto United Futsal

11- D- Daniel Chamale | CAN / Futsal Club Toronto

12- M- Jacob Orellana | CAN / Toronto Idolo Futsal

13- T/M- Robert Renaud | CAN / Alibiceleste Futsal Club

14- GK- Vincent Cournoyer | Unattached

Head Coach – Kyt Selaidopoulos

Assistant Coach – Lorenzo Redwood

Assistant Coach – Mike Vitulano


Leave a reply