Canada Fail Once Again to Qualify for FIFA Futsal World Cup


Canadian futsal fans will need to keep waiting.

Costa Rica defeated Canada 3-2 in the 2nd round match yesterday in Managua in a match in which the winner earned a ticket to the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2024.

Canada came into the tournament looking to qualify for the tournament for the first time since the inaugural competition in 1989 when they were invited as one of 16 nations.

Canada drew Cuba 5-5 in their opening match on Saturday night with Safwane Mlah and Loic Kwemi each notching a pair of goals while Montacer El Harchali added one of his own.

Despite a gutsy hat-trick performance by Loic Kwemi, Canada fell in their next match to Panama by a 7-3 score the following night.

The team showed promise in a must-win match over hosts Nicaragua with five different players registering goals, including Kwemi, who scored his 6th of the competition. The 6-3 victory saw the team advance to the knockout stage as one of the best 3rd place teams.

In the match that would determine who would book their ticket to the World Cup in Uzbekistan, it was Raheem Rose opening the scoring for Canada in the 5th minute. However, Costa Rica would answer back with three straight goals in the opening half.

El Harchali would bring Canada within a goal halfway through the 2nd half but that was as close as the Reds would get with the Ticos getting the 3-2 win.

The win clinched the 4th consecutive World Cup qualification for Costa Rica, who finished fourth in the competition after losing to Guatemala in the bronze medal game.

It is the third straight consecutive qualifying tournament that Canada has failed to qualify under Head Coach Kyt Selaidopoulos.

Panama would edge out Cuba in the championship final in a thrilling 4-3 match to earn their first ever CONCACAF Futsal Championship.

The Dominican Republic’s David Rondón along with Guatemala’s Marvin Sandoval and Roberto Alvarado finished atop the tournament scoring chart with 7 goals each. Sandoval won the Top Scorer Award by virtue of having more assists.


Best Player Award: Panama Alfonso Maquensi

Young Player Award: Cuba Kevin Rueda

Top Scorer Award: Guatemala Marvin Sandoval

Best Goalkeeper Award: Panama Jaime Peñaloza

Fair Play Award:  Panama



Leave a reply